HONORS FOR SOJOURN TO THE PAST CALIFORNIA SENATE and ASSEMBLY

February 2012 CALIFORNIA SENATE RESOLUTION No. 260



Left to right: Honorable Curren D. Price, Jr., 26th Senate District; Honorable Darrell Steinberg, Senate President Pro Tempore; Minnijean Brown Trickey (Little Rock Nine); Jeff Steinberg, Sojourn founder and executive director; Honorable Mark Leno, 3rd Senate District.

Authored by Senators Curren D. Price, Jr. and Mark Leno (members of Sojourn's National Advisory Committee), the California Senate presented Sojourn to the Past with a Resolution commending Sojourn "for providing a unique and transformational educational experience for high school pupils and teachers that fosters a more civil society where diversity is embraced, injustice is spoken out against, and all people are treated with dignity and respect."

CALIFORNIA ASSEMBLY RESOLUTION

Authored by Assemblymember Jerry Hill (member of Sojourn's National Advisory Committee), the California Assembly honored Minnijean Brown Trickey for lifetime achievement as a leader for social change. One of the most important events in the American Civil Rights Movement was the end of legal segregation in public schools initiated by the Supreme Court ruling: Brown v. Board of Education, 1954. Minnijean Brown Trickey was one of the Little Rock Nine - the group of nine courageous students who, in 1957, faced opposition to integrate from the Arkansas governor and mob threats to lynch to become the first students of color at Little Rock Central High School. Assisted by federal troops dispatched by the President, their bravery paved the way for the integration of public schools in America. She is engaged with Sojourn to the Past on the ten-day academic immersion journeys as the program's antiracism/ direction action workshop facilitator.



Honorable Jerry Hill, 19th Assembly District and Minnijean Brown-Trickey (Little Rock Nine)